Nieuwe Michael Chapman in januari

12-10-2016 door johnsmits

Op 20 januari 2017 brengt Michael Chapman een nieuw album uit, getiteld '50' (niet zijn leeftijd, die is 75, maar het aantal jaren dat hij als muzikant 'on tour' is). Hoewel het album zeker een retrospectief karakter heeft, is het geen verzameling van zijn bekendste nummers. Chapman heeft gekozen voor een aantal herinterpretaties van minder bekend werk, maar het album bevat ook drie nieuwe songs.Tracklist: A Spanish Incident (Ramón and Durango) 5:05Sometimes You Just Drive 4:41The Mallard 5:45Memphis in Winter 6:50The Prospector 6:39Falling from Grace 6:32Money Trouble 4:33That Time of Night 6:11Rosh Pina 5:07 (CD/digital bonus track)Navigation 5:14 (CD/digital bonus track)After five decades of recording and touring, veteran British songwriter and guitar sage Michael Chapman has finally made what he calls his “American record,” and the aptly titled 50 now stands as his late career masterwork, a moving legacy statement by a legend. Backed by a collaborative group of friends and acolytes—Steve Gunn (who also produced), Nathan Bowles (Pelt), James Elkington (Jeff Tweedy), Jason Meagher (No-Neck Blues Band), Jimy SeiTang (Rhyton), and fellow UK songwriting luminary Bridget St John—Chapman tears into both bold renderings of new songs and radical reinterpretations of material from his revered catalog, the crack band adeptly scaling the same rarefied sonic heights of classic Harvest albums like Fully Qualified Survivor, guided by a true survivor’s instinct, wit, and wisdom. The result is a sublime chiaroscuro self-portrait, more shadow than light, as an invigorated Chapman wrestles with weighty themes of travel, memory, mortality, and redemption, his world-weary whispers assuming the incandescent power of prophecy.The deluxe LP package includes tip-on jacket, printed inner sleeve, lyrics, and download card with two bonus tracks; the CD features a gatefold jacket, lyrics, and two non-LP bonus tracks. Meer info